Ruth Laredo

Ruth Laredo1-1

Ruth Laredo is a beautiful and talented pianist known for her brilliant recordings of the complete solo piano works of Rachmaninoff, the 10 sonatas of Scriabin, and piano pieces by Ravel. At eight years old she saw a concert of Vladimir Horowitz, and then became convinced that she herself wanted to become a concert pianist. She would go on to become one of the great pianists of her time, considered one of the ‘first ladies of the piano’. Ruth Laredo is also a writer for magazines such as Piano Today and Keyboard Classics, and a host of several radio programs about classical music.

Ruth Laredo’s many recordings include Piano Quartets by Brahms, Sonatas by Beethoven including the Appassionata, the Tempest, and Les Adieux, The Seasons by Tchaikovsky, Barber’s Piano Sonata, Op. 26, and chamber music by Mendelssohn, Stravinsky, Rachmaninoff, Mozart and Schumann, and Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 3, among many other pieces.
(c) 2014

Ruth LaredoRuth Laredo

Date of Birth: November 20, 1937
Place of Birth: Detroit, Michigan
Star Sign: Scorpio
Name at Birth: Ruth Meckler